Skip to content

The Lasker Awards 2012

Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award goes to

Michael Sheetz, James Spudich and Ronald Vale

For discoveries concerning the cell’s protein-folding machinery, exemplified by cage-like structures that convert newly made proteins into their biologically active forms.

Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award goes to

Roy Calne and Thomas E. Starzl

For the development of liver transplantation, which has restored normal life to thousands of patients with end-stage liver disease.

I highly recommend reading their essays published in Nature Medicine.

Michael Sheetz, James Spudich, Ronald Vale, Roy Calne, Thomas E. Starzl